TLC’s EXTREME COUPONING – Did You Watch? What Did You Think?

29 Dec

I almost forgot about the “Extreme Couponing” show on TLC and I was so glad that I recorded it.  My husband and I just finished watching it.  I have some mixed feelings about the show and the “extreme couponers.”  For those who did not watch the show took you in a day in the life of four extreme couponers. 

Nathan Engels – Villa Hills, KY – Cartographer
Nathan started clipping coupons four years ago when he and his wife took a closer look at their finances. Now, debt free with more than 10,000 items stockpiled in his garage, Nathan is preparing for the biggest haul of his life. On his latest visit to the supermarket, Nathan is leaving with over 2,000 items – his most massive checkout to date. With 1,100 boxes of cereal, 300 toothbrushes and 60 bottles of hand soap, Nathan is looking forward to topping himself and saving thousands of dollars in the process!
Retail value: $5,743.00 Nathan’s cost after utilizing his coupons: $241.00 – 95% savings!

Joanie Demer – McKinleyville, CA – Stay at home mom
For Joanie, clipping coupons started out as a hobby three years ago. But just three months in, she quickly discovered the financial gratitude associated with smart shopping. Now, Joanie is known as “The Krazy Coupon Lady” and to satisfy her daily coupon cravings this stay-at-home mom collects more than 500 coupons each week by doing something most women won’t do – she jumps in dumpsters! During her latest trip to the supermarket, she fills four carts full of 250 items including 40 boxes of pasta and 20 liters of soda.
Retail value: $638.64. Joanie’s cost after utilizing her coupons: $2.64 – 98% savings!

Joyce House – Philadelphia, PA – Retired Nurse
Through careful planning and smart shopping, Joyce hasn’t paid for a toothbrush, toothpaste or deodorant in 34 years. The savvy saver has been on her own since the age of 12 and at 15, was a single mother using coupons out of necessity. On her latest trip to the supermarket, Joyce brings along her daughter to teach her the basics of extreme couponing and ends up walking out of the store with hundreds of dollars in savings.
Retail value: $230.38. Joyce’s cost after utilizing her coupons: $6.32.

Amanda Ostrowski – Cincinnati, OH – Storage Facility Manager
Amanda is a full-time Storage Facility Manger in Cincinnati, OH who spends up to 70 hours a week researching in-store promotions, clipping coupons and surfing the internet for the latest and greatest deals. She already has a stockpile of products from previous couponing ventures worth up to $15,000. But this extreme saver is most proud of her collection of toilet paper – over 3,000 rolls – enough to last the average couple about 40 years! Now, with the help of her husband, Amanda is preparing for her largest checkout ever consisting of nine baskets of food, beauty and pet products including 218 boxes of pasta, 268 containers of noodles, 100 bottles of sport drink and 150 candy bars.
Retail value: $1,175.33. Amanda’s cost after utilizing her coupons: $51.67.

The one who I could relate to the most was Joyce, the coupon diva.  In many ways we were similar.  I do not go door to door to get coupon inserts, but my friends and family save their coupons for me.  Her style of shopping is close to mine.  I stockpile, but not to the extreme of needing separate rooms to keep my food or items in.  I admire her desire and she looked like she enjoyed what she did.  What a great way to get out everyday and walk and collect your coupons!

I also must comment on Nathan, although he was the most extreme as far as his shopping and savings.  I loved how he donated all the boxes of Total cereal to his local food bank.  That was awesome!  I would have loved to seen more of that trailer go right to the food bank.  😛  Not sure what one person will do with over 300 toothbrushes.  That is one thing I love about being able to coupon and find great deals.  I find joy sharing with not only my family but my friends and strangers, people who are in need. 

So, if you watched, let me know what  YOU thought.  🙂

2 Responses to “TLC’s EXTREME COUPONING – Did You Watch? What Did You Think?”

  1. Cabry December 30, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    I need some advice, Im a stay at home mom and I would love to have have some tips on how to use coupons successfully. I use them currently from time to time, but never like The four people I saw on TLC last night. I’m like you in some ways, I can relate to Joyce. I have to young kids and one on the way and I’m trying to find out as much as possible on ways to save money, so I can have money. Any advice????

    • STLAVONLADY December 30, 2010 at 11:42 am #

      Sounds like we have a little in common. I am a mother who is recently laid off. I coupon because I enjoy it and becasue of the money I can save. I have a 7 year old daughter and married for 11 years in January. I don’t buy coupons. I usually buy 3 papers a week and I get them at either the Dollar Store or Sams Club. They are usually cheapier there. They used to be $0.99 and just recently went up to $1.50 each. I then get 2 or 3 more inserts from friends/family that save them for me. I never buy the coupons. It just isn’t worth it for me. I don’t think there is anything wrong with it, but it isn’t for me. I try to spend as little as possible. The way I shop is I spend 15 – 20 minutes at the computer and looking through the grocery ads. I have 3 sites favortie sites I look at. I write down the deals. I have to have a list! Always helps me. I write what I’m buying what coupon I’m using and how much it should cost me. Helps me know what I should be spending.
      It helps to know your stores. Know if each store has a coupon policy. Did you know that Target has their own coupons? Did you know you can match a Target coupon with a manufactureres coupon?

      Here are my 3 favorite couponing sites I search:
      Clippin’ With Carie
      Hip2Save
      Coupon STL
      Please let me know if you have any other questions. I would love to help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

