Let’s Get Physical

31 Aug

How many of you remember Olivia Newton-John?  I had her  Greatest Hits record album back in 2nd or 3rd grade.  I have such fun, great memories from dancing and playing that record over and over.  I also remember how beautiful the cover was.  It was pink and could open to see a full picture of her.  As a young girl I thought that was pretty cool. 

                                    

My husband in I were waiting for the news to come on tonight so we watched a few minutes of Glee.  I have never watched a full episode, but it looks like a show that I might enjoy.  Right when my husband was getting ready to turn it I exclaimed, “NO!”  “Don’t turn it!”  He looks at me and all I hear is ah why?  Ok maybe I didn’t yell, but I was pretty excited for this next part.  That’s Olivia Newton-John singing and dancing! 

My husband of 10 years looks at me and says, “Who is Olivia Newton-John?”  I couldn’t believe it.  How could someone not know who she is?  I proceeded to explain all the movies she had been in;  Grease, Xanadu, Two of A Kind, It’s My Party and Sordid Lives.   And the beautiful voice which helped us love her songs she sang.  Still nothing.  At this point I had missed most of the performance of  the song “Let’s Get Physical.” 

Maybe Ms. Olivia was bigger in my eyes than others.  I know I was not the only girl singing and dancing to her awesome songs.  I remember having a sleepover and watching Grease with all my girl friends.  It is amazing how you can have a passion or interest in something and your friends, lover or even classmate has no idea who this person or thing is. 

I still love her songs and her movies.  To this day Ms. Oliva is still singing and has accepted countless awards for her passion, gift and love for the arts.  She also has been a long-time activist for environmental and animal rights issues.  This gives me motivation to go through some of my old boxes and find that record and play it for my dear husband.  After all I must share with him that special part of my childhood. 

That or just annoy him with some 80’s music!!

Leave a Reply

