Insomniac or Night Owl

23 Aug

Insomniac or night owl?

 

By definition an insomniac is someone who cannot sleep. I do have nights where I am unable to fall asleep.  I blame this on several things.  Because the way I see it is it’s never my fault, right?  It is too hot.  Possibly I could make it cooler and that could help. 

My husbands snoring.  (oh my goodness, it is the worse) Maybe I could come to bed earlier and get to sleep before him.  For these reasons alone I do not think I am an insomniac.  I feel I just enjoy my time alone.  Knowing that others are asleep and I will truly not be bothered.  No phone calls, no errands.  Just me doing what I want with peace and quiet.  I believe I am a night owl, someone who likes to be active at night.  There is just one thing I find odd and annoying at the same time about this.  I also like the morning.  No matter if I get to sleep at 9pm or 2am I still wake up around 7am.  Doesn’t matter if it’s a holiday with no school and everyone else is sleeping.  I’m awake.  So silly, strange and annoying all at the same time. 

Can you be a night owl AND a morning person?  Clearly you can and somehow I make it work.  Eventually it catches up with me.  My husband will tell me to take a nap.  Oh my word.  If I were to take even a short 30 minute nap, that would mess everything up!  It would take me 2 hours longer to fall asleep.  You know how some people can take little naps and it totally rejuvenate them, I call them “power naps.”  If I took a power nap I would be power-less at night-time.  Meaning, well I don’t know what I mean.  I just liked the sound of it.  Power naps are just not for me. 

I must admit.  Once I started writing this post the song I Love the Nightlife by Alicia Bridges popped right in my head.  I had to add a clip for the video.  It just seemed appropriate.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

