Are Birthday Parties at home really worth it?

22 Aug

My daughter was invited to a birthday party of some close friends of ours. 

Their daughter was turning 6 years old.  It had been a long time since I went to a birthday party at the birthday girl or boys home.  I think the last one was when I was actually a child.  I was a little excited myself. 

The party was last night and the theme was Littlest Pet Shop. 

There were 10 girls and the house was decorated beautifully.  There were streamers and balloons which were everywhere, but not over done.  The party started with a fun craft which all the girls loved.  I myself would not be this brave to have 10 little girls in my dinning room with glue, glitter, scissors, but the host, one of my good friends, handled it perfectly.  I am not a very crafty person and I think that fact would have made it harder for me also.  After the craft was games and then homemade cupcakes.  I miss homemade treats.  Don’t you?  Now everything has to be store-bought.  I remember part of the fun was bringing in your mom’s famous cookies or her popcorn balls.  Nope none of this.  It’s Dierbergs popcorn balls or nothing.  Following the delicious cupcakes was the best part of the party, well to me.  PRESENTS!!  What better way then to open all your gift from you BFF’s than in the comfort of your home. 

From this mother I would have to say having your child’s birthday at home is totally worth it.  It can be so much more cost-effective.  Last year I spent almost $250 at a bounce house for my daughter.  Was it worth it to see her happy smiling face?  You Bet!  Could I have achieved that smiling face having it at home?  I’d like to think so.  I think planning a party at home can save money and you can make it much more personable.  Give it a theme.  Like our friend’s was Littlest Pet Shop.  Everything was about animals.  The craft, games and food.  Very clever and fun plus the birthday girl loves Littlest Pet shop.

2 Responses to “Are Birthday Parties at home really worth it?”

  1. Christy aka Mamarazzi August 22, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    I guess it all is a matter of perspective. Cost wise, probably definately worth having it at home. If one has the money and wants someone else to clean up the mess? Probably nice to have it somewhere else too.
    My oldest is 21, there weren’t as many “bouncy” places as there are now. I could take them to good old McDonalds & not cost an arm & a leg & the kids had a blast.

    • STLAVONLADY August 22, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

      I do have mixed feelings. It is nice having it someone else deal with the gifts, entertain the kids and then clean up the mess, but really did I just spend almost $300 on a bouncy house? I remember having my friends over and maybe a sleepover or something. lol

Leave a Reply

