My BFF is Spongebob Squarepants?

20 Aug

Today I am sitting watching Spongebob Squarepants, as I have many times with my 6-year-old daughter, and I wonder what is the attraction to this character?  I am 36 years old and yet I find myself watching a little, yellow sponge whose laugh is quite annoying yet humourous.  No matter how preposterous the adventure him and Patrick get into, I find myself watching until the end.  I have even found myself watching without my daughter.  Is he that cute?  Is he that funny?  I do “LOL” during 80% of the episode. 

He has a posy which consist of a Pink starfish who goes by Patrick Star.  Patrick is a dim-witted, but well-meaning starfish who is Spongbob’s best friend.    Sandy is a squirrel from Texas who is a master in Karate, which I find hilarious and Squidward who is quite talented on the clarinet and loves to look at himself.  Spongebob and Patrick consider Squidward their best friend, though the feeling is not mutual.  Other famous characters which reside in Bikini Bottom are Gary the Snail who is actually Patrick’s cousin and Spongebob’s pet.  Eugene H. Krabs better known as Mr. Krabs is the owner of the Krusty Crab and also Spongbob’s boss. Mr. Krabs worst enemy is Sheldon Plankton who owns the Chum Bucket. 

Now, tell me this.  How many of you actually took the time to click on the video of Spongebob and watch it?  Was it because it looked familiar or you just had to see it?  Spongebob appeals to such a huge audience and I believe that is what makes him so popular.  Well, that in being a yellow sponge living in Bikini Bottom with Patrick. 

I am sure there are several of you sitting there reading that will either agree with me or think I should be put in the looney bin. Spongebob makes us as adults laugh.  I have seen my father and my husband break a smile while the yellow sponge is bouncy around.  At one point I thought Spongebob was not good for my daughter to watch, but anything guy that can create a fire while daydreaming about jellyfish and then put out that fire by squeezing all the water out of himself, you know cause he is a sponge, is ok in my book.

2 Responses to “My BFF is Spongebob Squarepants?”

  1. Kate Karver September 15, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    It was rather interesting for me to read this post. Thanx for it. I like such themes and everything connected to this matter. I definitely want to read a bit more on this site soon. By the way, pretty nice design you have here, but what do you think about changing it every few months?

    Kate Karver

    • STLAVONLADY September 17, 2010 at 8:40 am #

      Thank you! Hope to see you back!!

Leave a Reply

