Why Do We Cry So Much?

18 Aug

Why do we cry at movies?  Some think it is because you are in emotional distress, perhaps it is related to your genetics or cultural conditioning.  Yet others believe it could have something to do with your boss refusing to give you the week off for vacation.  This much we do know, we have all done it for whatever reason whether we want to admit it or not.  There will be movies when I know the ending or I know it is sad or happy yet I still end up with a shirt that is soaked and make up that is ruined.  My husband will be looking at me like I am foolish.  Asking me, ” Are you feeling alright?” or “What is wrong with you?”  Yes!  I am fine!  I am just a blubbering idiot right now.  The best part is when I catch him crying.  Although I have never caught him at the full-blown soak your shirt cry.  He just does the little tear.  No fun for me.

Let’s take today for instance.  I was watching Domestic Disturbance with John Travolta and Vince Vaughn.  Great movie!  Love this move!  Is is a tear jerker?  Not so much.  Does it have a ridiculously sad or happy ending?  Not really.  So answer me this.  Why and the world was I tearing up at the end?  Why was there even a tear in my eye?  Yes, it was exciting and I was happy when the son and father were victorious over the stepfather, but did it deserve tears?  Good heavens.  Clearly today I was thinking about something else.  Perhaps some good news I had received.  All I know is I am glad I was sitting in the room alone today at 4:00 pm crying at a silly little mystery I had seen several times before. 

I have come to discover that crying is ok. 

Even though I may look foolish or get crazy looks, It is who I am and whithout it you just might explode inside.  Crying is away to share your emotions.  Sometimes you don’t even know why.  Just know it is healthy and good.

One Response to “Why Do We Cry So Much?”

  1. G.D. August 18, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    If a motion picture works the way it’s supposed to, and you’re the type of person who is especially atune to images and music, you won’t be able to stop yourself from getting teary-eyed.

    Some early film theorist felt that silent film was the only pure form of cinema. But c’mon, a great film accompanied by a great score equal emotional involvement, and that’s what a film is supposed to do.

    That’s not to say that a great score can’t elevate a mediocre or even rotten film – it happens all the time, I’m sorry to say.

    But as a man, I expect to be able to make an emotion investment in a film, it that doesn’t happen, I feel that I’ve wasted my money.

Leave a Reply

